The exhibition is dedicated to the history of the Wittelsbach family from its beginnings to the present.
Visit the new Museum of the Bavarian Kings, a „nationally and internationally unique museum” (Welt am Sonntag newspaper):
A beauty spot in a gorgeous landscape, the former Grand Hotel Alpenrose houses the Museum of the Bavarian Kings since September 2011. The exhibition is mainly dedicated to the two kings Maximilian II. and his son Ludwig II.
Situated in between the two royal castles, the museum excites with 3D technology and exquisite original objects. We strive for full visitor satisfaction and try to meet all requests. Tours are provided in multiple languages and levels of sophistication. Experience colorful insights into the history of the Wittelsbach dynasty from their beginnings until the 20th century.
Location and architecture
Underneath both Neuschwanstein Castle and Hohenschwangau Castle, the Museum of the Bavarian Kings perfectly fits into the picturesque landscape. Our house combines award-winning architecture and historical foundations in a classy ambience.
The great panorama window above the hotel’s old dining room is a unique eyecatcher, offering a spectacular view: The castle of Hohenschwangau, the Alpsee lake and the mountains of the Alps. Inside the building, the mindful visitor can discover more architectural reminders of the past. The menu of the restaurant is based on old royal recipes. High quality souvenirs and valuables are offered in the museum shop according to the idea “pleasure & zest for life”.
Alpseestrasse 27 | 87645 Hohenschwangau/Germany
Phone +49 8362 92 64 640 | Telefax +49 8362 887 201
City tours in Munich - Day excursions in Bavaria and into Austria: A variety of tours are offered by Gray Line Sightseeing. Accompanied by professional and experienced tour guides, Gray Line Sightseeing takes you to the sights you most want to see.
Gray Line Sightseeing
Tel: +49 (0) 89 / 54907560
Munich´s famous 1000-acre park has shaded paths, brooks, ponds and swans and is best known for its four beer gardens (Chinesischer Turm, Seehaus, Hirschau, Aumeister) and nude sunbathers.
The park stretches from the center of the city (near Odeonsplatz) to the northern city border. Access: The best way to reach it is the bus No. 54 from "Muenchner Freiheit" underground station (exit at stop "Chinesischer Turm")
When the food market of the city had grown too large for the central square Marienplatz, King Maximilian I issued a decree in 1807 to have it moved a few metres to the south-east, to the square between Heiliggeist-Kirche and Frauenstraße.
Charity buildings that had once belonged to the church were demolished to make way for the market square or "Markplatz", which only much later came to be known as "Viktualienmarkt" or victuals market.